Lord of the Flies

We’re officially starting Lord of the Flies in HEL. I’m very excited, because it is one of my favorite books. I read it in freshman year, and I remember being so deeply moved by it and its implications on the nature of humans and society that I cried several times (which doesn’t usually happen for me, I didn’t even cry during The Fault in Our Stars) and lost all hope in humanity for a couple weeks afterwards (it didn’t help that we were learning about the atrocities of World War II in history H9).

I’m interested in seeing how my reaction is similar and different this time around, especially since we’re reading it as a class and I will be able to hear other students’ views on it. Maybe it’ll offer some insight into my change in growth over the past three years.

Quotes from “Notes on Lord of the Flies

“to trace the defects of society back to the defects of human nature”

“adult life appears, dignified and capable, but in reality enmeshed in the same evil”

“And who will rescue the adult and his cruiser?”

“The tenets of civilization, the moral and social codes, the Ego, the intelligence itself, form only a veneer over this white-hot power, this uncontrollable force, ‘the fury and the mire of human veins.'”

‘concealed, basic wildness”

Leave a Reply

